Powerful Aquarius August Sturgeon moon, August 22, 2021

Aquarius Full Moon
Unleash that Bohemian Spirit. Embrace Your Eccentricities.

Full Moon August 22, 2021 – How Does the Full Moon Affect You?

Full Moon in Aquarius on August 22. Yes the second Full Moon in Aquarius in a row. Double Aquarius invites you to bend the rules, unleash that bohemian spirit & embrace your eccentricities. That being so as I said in July for the first of these two Aquarius moons, intense transformation is possible now, be 100% you but collaborate with your tribe. Blaze a trail with your independence but keep an eye for mutual powerful associations around all aspects of your life that can transport you to windows of manifestation that will only be open for a short time.

This full Moon will take place on Sunday, August 22, 2021, at 8:02 AM ET and is named the Sturgeon Moon. Other popular names for this Moon include the Fruit Moon, Grain Moon, and the Green Corn Moon.

It is called the Sturgeon Moon because this Moon occurs when an abundance of freshwater fish are caught from the lakes & rivers of North America. The lake Sturgeon is a light-greenish color with a pointed snout and two pairs of whisker-like tactile organs dangling across the mouth.

Scientists recommend that when you see the Moon looking massive as it rises in the night sky, your brain is playing a trick on you.

There are many reasons behind this, but the leading theory is that when the full Moon is low on the horizon, it can be compared to earthly things, such as buildings and trees, which is why it seems enormous.

Frequency Of Full Moons

Historically, there were 12 names used for full moons – one name for each month. August’s full Moon, as said earlier, is Sturgeon Moon. This full Moon gets its name from fishing tribes because the large fish are easiest caught in August.

There are around about 29.5 days between full moons, which makes it quite unusual for 2 full moons to occur in a single month with 30 or 31 days. Indeed, a fascinating article in the August 1937 issue of the now-defunct Maine Farmer’s Almanac briefly explained that the moon “usually comes full 12 times in a single year, three times for each season”.

Other important points about the full Moon discussed in that article were “Occasionally, however, there’ll come a year when there are 13 full blue moons during a year, not the usual 12,” the Maine Farmer’s Almanac article continued. “And that extra moon also meant that one of the four seasons would have four full blue moons instead of the usual three.”

The historic Maine Farmer’s Almanac article went on to call this extra Moon of a season a “Blue Moon” so the other full blue moons could occur at the proper times relative to the calendar year’s solstices & equinoxes.

Some of the effects that are believed to be caused due to the full Moon changes in human mood, mental health, & behavior. Meditation on the Moon Tarot Card is a fantastic way to focus your mind on how the lunar energy affects you.

Scientific Studies

According to Medical News Today, a study done in the year 1984 suggested that criminality cases increase on the nights of the full Moon. As an explanation, the scientists and researchers indicated that human tidal waves get affected due to the gravitational pull of the Moon.

There are also some other researches done on the full Moon, like a study done in 1998 that contradicted this result by saying that there was actually no significant relationship between the different moon phases & the rise in violent behavior. But still, according to the studies from the University of New Orleans study, 81% of mental health professionals have faith the lunar phases affect human behavior in different ways.

Therefore, even though there are different contradictory studies, some scientific studies still support that lunar phases affect humanity.

In China, the Full Sturgeon Moon is also known as the Hungry Ghosts Moon. August’s full blue Moon coincides with the Chinese Hungry Ghosts Festival when the gates of hell open up & the hungry dead once again walks amongst the living. 

The Chinese prepare delicious food offerings, spend money to satisfy the ghosts’ hunger, try to make them happy, & prevent them from causing havoc amongst humanity. In countries like Malaysia and Singapore, Chinese communities set up musical stages & host performances, making sure always to leave the very front row empty for the honored guests – the hungry ghosts. 

Under the full blue Moon, people light lotus-shaped water lanterns & float them on lakes, rivers, and pools to provide some light for lost souls to find their way safely back into the afterlife.

Despite the macabre atmosphere of the historic event, the Hungry Ghosts Festival originated as some harvest festival during the famous Han Dynasty, during which farmers would pray to their ancestors & report their autumn harvest to them. 

Due to Taoist and Buddhist cultural influences, folk beliefs combined with some ancient religious ceremonies to form the Hungry Ghost Festival. In the country of Japan, which also had Buddhist effects, this traditional festival is celebrated as the Obon festival. Japanese people wear yukata, eat and make merry at carnivals, & perform the Obon dance.

Future August Full Moons

Over the next 5 years, there’ll be 6 full moons because August 2023 will have a full blue moon. Here’s a quick little summary of the dates of each of the full moons and how these moons fit into each season.

The dates and times of the full blue moons are provided by NASA organization in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (also called as DST) for part of the year. Also, there is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time mentioned. This was previously called Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Starting with the year 2021, here are the dates of the following 6 August Full Moons.

August 22, 2021

The August 2021 Full Moon will occur on Sunday, August 22, 2021, 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC. This will be the 3rd full Moon of the Summer 2021 season. It’ll also be considered a seasonal blue moon due to the fact that it’s the 3rd full Moon in a season and has 4 full blue moons.

August 11, 2022

The August 2022 Moon will be on Thursday, August 11, 2022, 21:36 ET, or August 12, 2022, 02:36 UTC. This will be the 2nd full Moon of the Summer 2022 season.

August 1, 2023

The first August 2023 Moon will be on Tuesday, August 1, 2023, 14:31 EST or 19:31 UTC. This will be the 2nd full Moon of the Summer 2023 season.

August 30, 2023 (Full Blue Moon)

There will be a second moon as a full blue moon in August 2023 on Wednesday, August 30, 2023, 21:35, or onAugust 31, 2023, 02:35 UTC. This will be the 3rd and last full Moon of the Summer 2023 season.

August 19, 2024

The August 2024 Full Moon will occur on Monday, August 19, 2024, 14:26 EST or 19:26 UTC. This will be the 3rd full Moon of the Summer 2024 season.

August 9, 2025, 03:55 EST

The August 2025 Full Moon will occur on Saturday, August 9, 2025, 03:55 EST or 08:55 UTC. This will be the 2nd full Moon of the Summer 2025 season.

Past August Full Moons

And what about in the past full Moon? Here is when the full blue Moon occurred in the past for August.

August 3, 2020

The August 2020 Full Moon occurred Monday, August 3, 2020, at 11:59 EST or 16:59 UTC. It was the 2nd August full Moon of the Summer 2020 season.

August 15, 2019

The August 2019 Full Moon took place Thursday, August 15, 2019, 8:29 EST or 13:29 UTC. It was the 2nd August full Moon of the Summer 2019 season.

August 26, 2018

The August 2018 Full Moon took place on Sunday, August 26, 2018, at 07:56 EST or 12:56 UTC. It was the 2nd full blue Moon of the Summer 2018 season.

August 7, 2017

The August 2017 Full Moon occurred on Monday, August 7, 2017, 14:11 EST or 19:11 UTC. It was the 2nd full blue Moon of the Summer 2017 season.

August 18, 2016

The August 2016 Full Moon occurred Thursday, August 18, 2016, 05:27 EST or at 10:27 UTC. This was the 2nd full Moon of the Summer 2016 season.

August 29, 2015

The August 2015 Full Moon took place on Saturday, August 29, 2015, 14:35 EST or 19:35 UTC. This was the 3rd full Moon of the Summer 2015 season. This beautiful full Moon was later in the month because July had a blue moon at the very end of the month.

August Blue Moons

The following August full Blue Moon won’t be until the August 2023 full moon as there’ll be two full blue moons that month.

A full blue moon is when 2 full moons in the same month. Months with 31 days, like August, make it easier to have a full blue moon because a full blue moon occurs about once a month or approximately 29.53 days on average.

The seasonal full blue Moon is a second definition for blue moons in which 4 full blue moons occur in a season. The 3rd full Moon of the season is known as the seasonal blue Moon in the seasons, which has 4 full moons. The August full blue moon will always be either the 2nd or 3rd full Moon of the summer season, so it is possible to be a seasonal full blue moon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × five =

FOOL